USA Cycling National Championships Preview

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 00.39.29


After the latest two editions of the USA Pro Cycling National Championships being held in Chattanooga, Tennessee it is now turn to Winston-Salem, North Carolina (where the 2017 edition will be held as well). Winston-Salem will be center of American cycling holding not only the USA Pro Championships but also the Master and Paralympic National Championships as well as the Winston-Salem Cycling Classics (Criterium and Road Race).

We are at end of the Olympic Road Qualification period, thus final US Olympics preselections are due and so riders have a final great opportunity to persuade coaches and other committee members with their performances at the National Championships. Mari Holden with 5 national ITT titles holds the women ITT record. While David Zabriskie holds the men ITT record with 5 titles (his 2004 and 2006 titles were voided after his doping confession).

Kristin Armstrong (Twenty16), who is the current national ITT champion and has won already four titles, will be one of the main contenders to watch at the ITT. Carmen Small (Cervélo Bigla), Evelyn Stevens and Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans) are some -but not the only ones- of her strongest rivals not only for the National Championship but also for the Olympic selection.

Taylor Phinney (BMC), who has won two National ITT Championships, is a key media focus. Taylor heads back to the US Pro Road National Championships after his heartbreaking crash in 2014. Taylor suffered a compound fracture to his tibia and a severed patellar tendon that required surgery and that made him stop from cycling racing during fourteen months.


Winston NC

logo uspro


Friday, 27th May 2016 Local time: 8:00 am approx (UTC -4) Individual Time Trial Men Pro 48 km. (2 laps)
Friday, 27th May 2016 Local time: Following men ITT Individual Time Trial Women 33 km
Saturday, 28th May 2016 Local time: 9:30 am (UTC -4) US Pro Road Women Race 140 km (9 laps)
Saturday, 28th May 2016 Local time: 13:30 pm approx (UTC -4) US Pro Road Men Race 187 km (12 laps)
Sunday, 29th May 2016 Winston-Salem Cycling Classics                      Women’s Criterium Preview

                                                                                                     Men’s Criterium Preview

Monday, 30th May 2016 Winston-Salem Cycling Classics                     Women’s Road Race Preview
                                                                                                     Men’s Road Race Preview


Men ITT  


Men ITT circuit

Women ITT

Women ITT

Women ITT profile

Women Road Race & Men Road Race

Road RaceRoad race profile

US Pro Road Women Race 140 km (9 laps)

US Pro Road Men Race 187 km (12 laps)

Favourites & Outsiders

ITT Men Elite

Imagen  Taylor Phinney,  Brent Bookwalter,  David Williams
Imagen   Tom Zirbel,  Robin Carpenter,  Alexey Vermeulen
Imagen   Gregory Daniel,  Evan Huffman,  Joshua Berry,  Marc Brennan,  Daniel Eaton

ITT Women Elite

Imagen    Kristin Armstrong,  Evelyn Stevens,  Carmen Small
Imagen   Lauren Stephens,  Megan Guarnier,  Allie Dragoo,  Chloé Dygert

Imagen    Kelly Catlin,  Brianna Walle,  Leah Thomas,  Ruth Winder,  Nina Laughlin

Women Road Race

Imagen   Coryn Rivera,  Megan Guarnier,  Evelyn Stevens
Imagen   Leah Thomas,   Katie Hall,  Scotti Lechuga,  Tayler Wiles
Imagen    Lauren Hall,  Kristin Armstrong,  Alexis Ryan,  Abigail Mickey,  Lauren Stephens

Men Road Race

Imagen  Alex Howes,  Taylor Phinney,  Matthew Busche
Imagen   Benjamin King,  Brent Bookwalter,  Kiel Reijnen,  Alexey Vermeulen
Imagen    Evan Huffman,  Phillip Gaimon,  Travis McCabe,  Robert Squire,  Tom Zirbel

Betting area

Men ITT 

Nuestro favorito:  Taylor Phinney
Nuestro outsider:  Tom Zirbel

Women ITT 

Our favourite:  Kristin Armstrong
Our outsider:  Kelly Catlin

Women Road Race

Nuestra favorita:   Coryn Rivera
Nuestra outsider:   Alexis Ryan

Men Road Race

Nuestro favorito:  Alex Howes
Nuestro outsider:  Evan Huffman

Previous edition

Men ITT 


New Yorker Andrew Tolansky (Cannondale-Garmin) won his first US Pro Time Trial Championship ahead of Virginian rider Ben King (Cannondale-Garmin) in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Iowan rider Tom Zirbel, who became ITT national champion in 2013.

Women ITT 


Idahoan rider Kristin Armstrong (Twenty16) won her fourth US National ITT Championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Coloradan rider Carmen Small (Twenty16) finished in second place 13 seconds behind Armstrong. Californian rider Amber Neben (Visit Dallas) completed the podium.

Women Road Race


New Yorker rider Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans) sprinted to claim her second US National Road Race Championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Californian rider Coryn Rivera (United HealthCare) finished in second place, while Utahan rider Tayler Wiles (Velocio SRAM) completed the podium. 

Men Road Race


Wisconsinite rider Matthew Busche (Trek Factory Racing) claimed his second national road race title after attacking Delawarean Joe Dombrowski (Cannondale-Garmin) with two kilometres to go. Washingtonian rider Kiel Reijnen (UnitedHealthcare) completed the podium.




Live TV streaming (Road Race events on Saturday, 28th May 2016) from 9:10am (UTC-4)

  • Local time: 9:30 am (UTC -4) US Pro Road Women Race 140 km (9 laps) including awards ceremony.
  • Local time: 13:30 pm approx (UTC -4) US Pro Road Men Race 187 km (12 laps) including awards ceremony.

Twitter coverage

A few accounts and hashtags to follow the race (among others): @_RoadAndMud / @usacycling / #USPRO / @WSCycling

Winston Salem Cycling Classic app:

Android App                         Apple app


USA Cycling

Winston Salem


USA Cycling
Winston Salem Classics website

Images: Casey B. Gibson / USA Cycling

Written by:

Diego Martín
Víctor Díaz Gavito
Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.