La Flèche Wallonne Féminine Preview (1.WWT)

After the inaugural Ardennes Week kick-start on Sunday in Amstel Gold Race, it is turn now for Huy. Huy will witness the 20th edition of La Flèche Wallonne Féminine (previously part of the defunct UCI Road Women’s World Cup), the seventh round of the UCI Women’s World Tour on Wednesday 19 April 2017.

The race, which has been held uninterruptedly since 1998, forms part of the historic inaugural women’s edition of the Ardennes Week. Dutch rider Anna van der Breggen (Boels Dolmans) will try both to claim her third consecutive victory at La Flèche Wallonne Féminine and her second victory in the inaugural Ardennes Week. Marianne Vos (WM3 Energie), current record holder of the race with five victories, won’t be participating in the Belgian race.


Wednesday, 19 April 2017, local time from 10:45 am until 14:05 pm approx (UTC+2)

Route 120km: Huy – Mur de Huy

After about 2km of neutralisation, the 120 kilometre course of 2017 Flèche Wallonne Féminine will start. The course, which starts and finishes in Huy, has been sadly reduced in 17 kilometres and four hills. After a neutralised sector, the 120 kilometres 2017 Fleche Wallone race course will start. The new course will feature only seven climbs, including Cote de Cherave and Mur de Huy as its decisive and characteristic final segment. Mur de Huy, that riders will face twice, will be once again a key point at the Belgian classic as the race will likely end up on a sprint atop the Mur or with a solo attack from the bottom of the steep hill or at the previous one, Cote de Chevare.

Favourites & Outsiders

EstrellaEstrellaEstrellaEstrella [HOL] Anna van der Breggen, [POL] Kasia Niewiadoma,   [HOL] Annemiek van Vleuten

EstrellaEstrellaEstrella [SUD] Ashleigh Moolman, [USA] Coryn Rivera, [GBR] Lizzie Deignan
EstrellaEstrella  [FRA] Pauline Ferrand-Prevot, [USA] Claudia Lichtenberg, [ITA] Elena Cecchini, [CUB] Sarah Gillow
Estrella [HOL] Janneke Ensing, [USA] Megan Guarnier, [GBR] Dani King, [ITA] Alena Amialiusik, [HOL] Flavia Oliveira, [FRA] Audrey Cordon-Ragot 

Betting area

Our favourite: [HOL] Anna van der Breggen

Our outsider: [ITA] Alena Amialiusik


Sheyla Gutiérrez (Cylance), Mavi García, Lierni Lekuona, Lorena Llamas and Lourdes Oyarbide (Bizkaia-Durango) will be our Spanish representatives at the 20th edition of La Flèche Wallonne Féminine.

Startlist Elite

Who to follow

15 riders to watch at La Flèche Wallonne Féminine

Previous edition

@ ASO/G.Demouveaux

Dutch rider Anna van der Breggen (Rabobank Liv) reedited her victory at the top of Mur de Huy. The Dutch rider broke away with 2012 Flèche Wallonne winner Evelyn Stevens (Boels Dolmans) between the race’s penultimate climb (Côte de Cherave) and the final climb to the finish line in Huy. Despite the fact that Stevens sat on van der Breggen’s wheel during their breakaway, van der Breggen distanced Stevens in the final 150 meters to the finish. American road champion Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans) rounded out the podium, finishing 20 seconds behind the Dutch winner.



How to follow the race

It is unlikely that the race will be broadcast live but it is posible that during the start of the men’s race streaming some sort of coverage or highlights will be broadcasted at 14:05 (UTC+2) on:

  • Australian channel SBS
  • Belgian RTBF

Social media


A few Twitter accounts and hashtags (among others) to follow the race:


A few Facebook accounts:


Official website
Women Cycling Fever
Pro Cycling Stats
Written by:
Diego Martín
Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.