La Course by Le Tour Review (1.WWT)


Australian rider Chloe Hosking (Wiggle High5) won on Sunday at Les Champs Elysees, Paris La Course by Le Tour, the twelfth round of the UCIWWT. It was the second UCI WWT round won by Hosking, she firstly won a stage and the GC of Tour de Chongming Island in May and a stage at Giro Rosa earlier in July.

Unlike the previous edition of La Course, the race ended with a bunch sprint from a reduced group, mainly due to the various crashes on the final kilometres of the race. Finish rider Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo Bigla) finished second, while Dutch rider Marianne Vos (Rabobank Liv), winner of the inaugural edition of race in 2014, completed the podium.

The first breakaway of the day was the one formed in early stages of the race by by Russian rider Olga Zabelinskaya (Bepink), British road national champion Hannah Barnes (Canyon SRAM), Dutch riders Lucinda Brand (Rabobank Liv) and Chantal Blaak (Boels Dolmans). The quarter never had more than a quarter of a minute advantage as Wiggle High5 led the chasing efforts on the peloton but managed to stay away for a few laps. Once they were caught several attacks followed on the peloton but no-one managed to get away from the peloton.


It was on the last 10 kilometres when American rider Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-SVB), Dutch riders Amy Pieters (Wiggle High5) and Lucinda Brand (Rabobank Liv) broke away from the peloton. The trio had a maximum advantage of nearly ten seconds as Stephens pushed hard and set a high pace to stay away from the peloton, while Brand struggled to hold their pace and wheels.


Once the trio was caught with around three kilometres to go, a few crashes occurred on the field and the main group was reduced to a few. It was with only a few kilometres to go when Dutch rider Ellen van Dijk (Boels Dolmans) attacked solo, trying to reedit her compatriot Anna van der Breggen (Rabobank Liv), who did not compete on Sunday, winning move at the previous edition of La Course.


Despite van Dijk’s time trial skills and efforts, the Dutch rider was caught with less than 300 meters to the finish line. It was Australian rider Hosking who caught her and launched the sprint from afar but managed to cross the finish line first to become both the first Australian rider and non-Rabobank Liv rider to win La Course by Le Tour. Finish rider Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo Bigla) and Dutch rider Marianne Vos (Rabobank Liv), could not out-sprint Hosking and finished second and third respectively. Sheyla Gutiérrez (Cylance), the only Spanish rider at La Course, finished in 22nd place.



Next UCI WWT race will be on Saturday 30th July 2016, as the Women’s WorldTour Prudential RideLondon Classique will be held in London, UK. The UCI WWT rankings remains as follows:

UCI Women’s WorldTour Individual Ranking

1   Megan Guarnier Boels Dolmans 886
2   Elizabeth Armitstead Boels Dolmans 545
3   Elisa Longo Borghini Wiggle High5 493
4 Evelyn Stevens Boels Dolmans 484
5 Anna van der Breggen Rabobank Liv 467
6 Emma Johansson Wiggle High5 463
7 Leah Kirchmann Liv Plantur 457
8 Marianne Vos Rabobank Liv 399
9 Chantal Blaak Boels Dolmans 351
10 Katarzyna Niewiadoma Rabobank Liv 351
11 Chloe Hosking Wiggle High5 314
12 Alena Amialiusik Canyon SRAM 263
13 Claudia Lichtenberg Lotto Soudal 211
14 Annemiek van Vleuten Orica-AIS 209
15 [FRA] Roxane Fournier Poitou-Charentes Futuroscope 86 192
47 [ESP] Sheyla Gutiérrez Cylance Pro Cycling 62

UCI Women’s WorldTour Youth Ranking

1 Katarzyna Niewiadoma Rabobank Liv  30
2 Floortje Mackaij Liv Plantur 18
3 Lotte Kopecky Lotto Soudal 12

Women’s WorldTour Team Ranking

1 Boels Dolmans 2529
2 Wiggle High5 1819
3 Rabobank Liv 1482

Highlights La Course by Le Tour UCI WWT



Official web

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.