La Classique Morbihan Preview (WE 1.1)

Cycling gets back to Plumelec for its great cycling weekend hosting two UCI WE 1.1 ranked one day races (La Classique Morbihan and GP de Plumelec-Morbihan Dames). La Classique Morbihan will be held on Friday with a new start inland location in Saint Barthélémy (previously race was departing from Vannes) and a different race course that maintains its iconic and characteristic segments, Bernard Hinault circuit and Côte de Cadoudal

Bernard Hinault circuit is a short (only 7.7 kilometre long) but demanding circuit, named after the legendary 10-Grand Tour winner, that features Côte de Cadoudal as its main difficulty, with 1.4 kilometres at a 6.5 % average gradient. After hosting its inaugural edition in 2015 under UCI WE 1.2 category, the race step up in 2016 receiving 1.1 status.

Australian rider Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini) and Luxemburger rider Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans), previous winners of La Classique Morbihan, won’t participate in the race. Thus, Plumelec will witness a new race winner.

La Classique Morbihan evokes Eider Merino’s (Lointek) great performance in 2015, finishing third one day before of one of the greatest Spanish cycling recent days, when her then teammate Sheyla Gutiérrez won GP de Plumelec-Morbihan (the first Spanish rider to claim a victory in a UCI ranked event in seven years). Eider Merino heads to the race in some impressive form after delivering superb performances both in Emakumeen Saria and in Emakumeen Bira.


Friday, 26 May 2017, local time from 14:15 to 17:30 pm approx (UTC+2)

Route 113km: Saint Barthélémy – Plumelec

Different race course as in the two previous editions of the race, but same race course finale featuring Bernard Hinault circuit. Riders will have to complete a hilly 97.6-kilometre course from Saint Barthélémy to Plumelec before entering the decisive final 7.7-kilometre Bernard Hinault circuit. Riders will cover two laps to this circuit featuring Côte de Cadoudal as its key difficulty and characteristic segment . Similarly to previous editions we expected a reduced group battling for the win atop Côte de Cadoudal.

Final 3 kilometres

Favourites & Outsiders

EstrellaEstrellaEstrella   Audrey Cordon-Ragot, [ITA] Elena Cecchini, [DIN] Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, [BEL] Ann-Sophie Duyck
EstrellaEstrella  [NOR] Vita Heine, [ESP] Eider Merino, [HOL] Eva Buurman, [FIN] Lotta Lepistö, [AUS] Shara Gillow
Estrella [ESP] Ane Santesteban, [FRA] Roxane Fournier, [BIE] Alena Amialiusik, [SUE] Hanna Nilsson, [ESP] Lorena Llamas, [HOL] Thalita de Jong

Betting area

Our favourite: [ITA] Elena Cecchini

Our outsider: [FRA] Roxane Fournier


Lorena Llamas, Anna Pujol and Naia Leonet (Bizkaia Durango); Elisabet Escursell, Miriam Gardachal, Ane Iriarte, Eider MerinoMerce Pacios and Ane Santesteban (Selección Española) will be our Spanish representatives at the third edition of La Classique Morbihan.


Previous edition

@GP Plumelec / Damien Guhur

Luxemburger rider Christine Majerus (Luxembourg / Boels Dolmans) won the previous edition of La Classique Morbihan. Majerus was the fastest in the bunch sprint atop Cadoudal. French riders Elise Delzene (France / Lotto Soudal) and Amalie Rivat-Mas (Poitou-Charentes Futuroscope 86), completed the podium in second and third place respectively.


How to follow the race

Social media


A few Twitter accounts and hashtags (among others) to follow the race:


A few Facebook accounts:


Official website
Women Cycling Fever

Pro Cycling Stats

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.