Joe Martin Stage Race Preview (WE 2.2)

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 00.10.20


Joe Martin Stage Race is an Elite women’s stage road race held in Fayetteville, Arkansas. This year the 39th edition of the race and will be held under UCI Elite 2.2 ranking. The Joe Martin Stage Race began as the Fayetteville Spring Classic in 1978. Joe Martin served as the race director until 1988 when he was stricken with cancer. Upon his death in 1989, the race was renamed in his honor. Since then, the Joe Martin Stage Race has grown into one of the top National Race Calendar (NRC) and amateur events in the nation.

It is part of the USA Cycling Professional Race Tour (PRT). The race will have same race programme as in the previous editions with very small differences on its stages course. American rider Lauren Stephens has won the last two editions of the race and heads to the race as one of the top favourites.

Joe Martin (on the left) pictured with Eddy Merckx & Span Wilson at the 1982 Coors Classic in Boulder, Colorado. @joemartinstagerace

Kristin Armstrong (TWENTY16) leads the general classification of the 2016 USA Cycling Pro Road Tour with 151 points. Mara Abbott (Wiggle-High5) sits second with 108 points and Scotti Lechuga (Hagens Berman Supermint) third with 84 point. Scotti is the only one who will participate at this race. Thus, she has a great opportunity to jump on the ranking.


Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 00.40.39

From Thursday, April 21st until Sunday, April 24th

1st stage : Devil’s Den State Park (ITT): 4.84km Local Time: 14:30 approx. (UTC -5)


Different course in 2016. The course is a 4.84 kilometre climb out of Devil’s Den State Park. The road steadily climbs 221 meters to the finish line with an average grade of 5%, with most of the climb at 6% to 8%.

Our favourite: [USA] Katie Hall  Our outsider:  Linda Villumsen

2nd stage :   Cedarville to Fayetteville: 99.1km Local Time: 14:40 to 17:15 approx. (UTC -5)
stage 2

The course will begin at Cedarville Baptist Church. It is a hilly course with a major mountain difficulty (Mount Gaylor climb), riders will have to climb a total 1067 meters all over the course. The finishing stretch is not completely flat.

ultimos 3
Final 3km

Our favourite: [USA] Scotti Lechuga Our outsider:  Iris Slappendel

3rd stage : Prairie Grove-Hogeye Loop-Prairie Grove: 101.6km Local Time: 11:15 to 13:50 approx. (UTC -5)

Hogeye Loop

The course has two sections: first there is a 28.3-km out and back section to the main loop from the start/finish line, the second section is a two-laps loop circuit of 37.1 kilometres. The final stretch is completely flat, thus a bunch sprint is likely to happen.

Our favourite: [USA] Coryn Rivera Our outsider: [AUS] Lauretta Hanson

4th stage-criterium: Fayetteville – Fayetteville: 50 minutes Local Time: 14:00 approx (UTC -5)

Criterium circuit

Our favourite: [AUS] Lauretta Hanson Our outsider: [USA] Lauren Tamayo

Favourites & Outsiders

Imagen [USA] Katie Hall, [USA] Lauren Stephens [USA] Scotti Lechuga
Imagen  Linda Villumsen, [CAN] Jasmin Glaesser, [USA] Emma White, [USA] Mandy Heintz
Imagen   Jessenia Meneses,  Iris Slappendel, [AUS] Lauretta Hanson, [USA] Coryn Rivera, [USA] Nina Laughlin 

Betting area

Our favourite: [USA] Lauren Hall
Our outsider:  Jessenia Meneses


Women Elite Startlist

Previous edition

Last edition podiums
Last edition final podiums

Lauren Stephens (Tibco-SVB) won last year edition, reedition her 2014 overall win. It was a thrilling race until the final criterium, but the American rider managed to hold her lead over Amber Neben and Scotti Wilborne (Lechuga), who finished third and second overall respectively.


1 [USA] Lauren Stephens Tibco-SVB 5:56:01
2 [USA] Scotti Wilborne UnitedHealthcare 13”
3 [USA] Amber Neben Visit Dallas Cycling 16”
4 [CAN] Leah Kirchmann Optum Kelly 22”
5 [USA] Ruth Winder UnitedHealthcare 24”
6 [USA] Coryn Rivera UnitedHealthcare st
7 Linda Villumsen UnitedHealthcare 26”
8 [CAN] Tara Whitten Cyclery-Opus 37”
9 Rushlee Buchanan UnitedHealthcare 54”
10 [BRA] Flavia Oliveira Visit Dallas Cycling 57”


Twitter accounts & hashtags to follow the race: @_RoadAndMud / @joemartinstage / #JMSR    

Facebook page


Official web

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.