Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik Preview (WE 1.1)

On Sunday the seventh edition of Gooik–Geraardsbergen–Gooik will be held. The Belgian one day race, currently ranked under UCI WE 1.1 status, was created in 2011 and has featured throughout  it six edition some of the iconic classics hill, such as Muur-Kapelmuur.

Dutch rider Marianne Vos (WM3 Energie) and Australian rider Gracie Elvin (Orica-Scott) are the current record holders of the race, having won it twice since its inception in 2011. Australian Gracie Elvin has the opportunity to claim the three-peat as she has won the previous two editions of Gooik–Geraardsbergen–Gooik.


Sunday, 28 May 2017, local time from 14:15 to 17:45 pm approx (UTC+2)

Route 138km: Gooik – Gooik

Same race course as in the previous editions of the race. Riders will cover an initial 23-kilometre short lap before heading towards Geraardsbergen, entering the 55-kilometre long lap. Once the riders have gotten back to Gooik, they will still have to cover an 18-kilometre lap and four lap to a 10-kilometre local circuit, before sprinting for the victory in Gooik. Muur-Kapelmuur, Borberg, Congoberg twice and Bergstraat four times, will be the main difficulties of the race.

Favourites & Outsiders

EstrellaEstrellaEstrella  [AUS] Gracie Elvin, [HOL] Chantal Blaak, [BEL] Jolien D’hoore, [HOL] Ellen van Dijk
EstrellaEstrella  [AUS] Sarah Roy, [ITA] Elisa Longo Borghini, [HOL] Lucinda Brand, [DIN] Amalie Dideriksen, [HOL] Marianne Vos
Estrella [HOL] Anouska Koster, [FRA] Elise Delzenne, [BEL] Sofie de Vuyst, [BEL] Lotte Kopecky, [HOL] Natalie van Gogh, [BEL] Sanne Cant

Betting area

Our favourite: [HOL] Chantal Blaak

Our outsider: [BEL] Lotte Kopecky


There will be no Spanish riders at the 2017 edition of Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik.


Previous edition

@Sprinters Gooik

Australian rider Gracie Elvin (Orica-AIS) reedit her 2015 victory at Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik. Elvin was the fastest in the reduced group sprint in Gooik. Belgian rider Lotte Kopecky (Lotto Soudal) and French rider Elise Delzene (Lotto Soudal), completed the podium in second and third place respectively.


How to follow the race

Live TV

Starts at 14:30 (UTC+2), commented by José Been and Rochelle Gilmore.

Social media


A few Twitter accounts and hashtags (among others) to follow the race:


A few Facebook accounts:


Official website
Women Cycling Fever

Pro Cycling Stats

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.