Chrono des Nations Preview (WE 1.1)



Chrono des Nations is a group of several individual time-trial races (men, women, u23, junior) held annually in October in Les Herbiers, Vendée, France. The Women ITT has been held annually since 1987 and was originally named as Chrono des Herbiers. In 2006 it was merged together with Grand Prix des Nations creating the Chrono des Nations – Les Herbiers Vendée.

French rider Jeannie Longo is the record-woman of the race, as she has won the ITT six times (in 1987, 1992, 1995, 2000, 2009 and 2010). Spain best result is a runner-up position, as Joane Somarriba did in 2003. Ukrainian rider Hannah Solovey holds the time record of the course since 2014, riding the 20.87 kilometres in 27 minutes 37 seconds.

Despite the late moment of the cycling season and similarly to previous editions of the race, some of the best time trial specialist will take part in the race such as Belgian rider Ann-Sophie Duyck (Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx), Finish rider Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo – Bigla), British rider Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) or South African rider Ashleigh Moolman (Cervélo – Bigla). Lourdes Oyarbide (Bizkaia Durango), who heads to the race aiming to finish on the top-3 among the under-23 riders and on the top-20 overall, will be our only Spanish representative at the 2016 edition of the race.

Before the Elite race, the Women Junior ITT (WJ 1.1.) is held, including some of the best international riders such as Junior World Championships silver medallist Lisa Morzenti or British rider Henrietta Colborne.




Sunday 23rd October 2016, Local time: 13:25 pm – 14:25 pm approx (UTC+2)

Route 20.87km: Herbiers – Herbiers


Favourites & Outsiders

EstrellaEstrellaEstrella [BEL] Ann-sophie Duyck, [FIN] Lotta Lepistö, [GBR] Hayley Simmonds
[SUD] Ashleigh Moolman, [JAP] Eri Yonamine, [USA] Alison Tetrick, [FRA] Edwige Pitel
Estrella [NOR] Vita Heine, [FRA] Mélodie Lesueur,  Vittoria Bussi, [FRA] Aude Biannic, [NOR] Cecilie Johnsen


Betting area

Our favourite: [BEL] Ann-sophie Duyck
Our outsider: [NOR] Vita Heine



Previous edition


Russian rider Tatiana Antoshina (Russia) won the previous edition of Chrono des Nations, finishing 16 seconds ahead of Ucranian rider Hannah Solovei (Ucrania) and 17 seconds ahead of Belgian rider Ann-Sophie Duyck (Topsport Vlaanderen Pro Duo), who completed the podium.




A few Twitter accounts and hashtags (among others) to follow the race:


Official web

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.