947 Cycle Challenge Preview (WE 1.1)



After the inaugural KZN Summer Series, it is time now for the 20th edition of Telkom 94.7 Cycle Challenge. 94.7 Cycle Challenge is a cycling festival that takes place annually the third Sunday of November in the city of Johannesburg. It is considered one of the largest cycling events in the world (between 20,000 and 30,000 cyclists generally take part in the challenge at the various group categories including paracyling, u23, men and women elite).

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, 2015 winner and one of the greatest African cyclists and athletes, won be able to reedit her victory as she is recovering from a crash caused after a police motorbike was parked in the middle of a roundabout during the Chrono des Nations that resulted in a fracture of her iliac bone in the hip.

Mavi GarcíaLourdes Oyarbide and Yessica Pérez (Bizkaia-Durango) will be our Spanish representatives at the 2016 edition of the 94.7 Cycle Challenge.



Sunday 20th November 2016, Local time from 05:52 am (UTC+2)

Route 94.7km: Johannesburg – Johannesburg


Favourites & Outsiders

EstrellaEstrellaEstrella [USA] Brianna Walle, [ALE] Clara Koppenburg, [ESP] Mavi García
  [FIN] Lotta Lepistö, [NOR] Vita Heine, [SUD] An-li Kachelhoffer,  Vera Adrian, [SUD] Anriette Schoeman
Estrella [SUD] Heidi Dalton, [SUD] Carla Oberholzer, [SUD] Lise Olivier, [NZL] Joanne Kiesanowski, [SUD] Brittany Petersen, [SUD] Samantha Sanders

Betting area

Our favourite: [ALE] Clara Koppenburg
Our outsider: [SUD] Lise Olivier



Previous edition

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Bigla) won the 2015 Momentum 94.7 Cycle Challenge after delivering a remarkable performance. The South African rider, who made into the breakaway, had a crash during a fast descent that got her back on the main peloton.  Despite that crash and its consequences, Moolman-Pasio managed, with the help of her teammates, to first bridge the breakaway riders and later soloed to the victory in Johannesburg. Dutch riders Sabrina Stultiens and Floortje Mackaij (Liv-Plantur) completed the podium.


Live TV Streaming: from 07:00 am (UTC+2)


A few Twitter accounts and hashtags (among others) to follow the race:


Official web

Written by:
Diego Martín

Sin comentarios

Escribe algo

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.